GODS SMILE

Dear God I received your smile today
each way I looked it shined my way,
In the sparkling drops of dew upon the lane
 the glorious trees of ash with leaves of flame.
Your smile in the emerald spears of grass
buzzing insects in the leaves of sassafras.
I looked to mountaintops peaked with snow
Saw rising suns gentle golden glow.
Felt mist of water as the breeze began to blow
In the majestic floral colors rich and deep
brilliant your smile, enough to make me weep
Dear God I received your smile today
each way I looked it shined my way
In the eyes of a calf as it licks my hand
refusing to move, looks at me and stands
Passing the barn I catch a splinter, rubbing spot of rain
It reminds how Jesus took for us our sin and pain
I looked for you among this muddy path
Watching birds in their morning bath
Raising their wings in love and praise
for the water and  suns warm rays
My resentment, anger and hurt pride have gone
Basking in this new day and a covenant bond
For this morning I saw my God smile at me
and with that my soul flew free

 

Leave a Reply

